Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Is it possible for my heart to break and rejoice at the same time? It must be because that’s what I’m feeling right now. I’m listening to Lennox’s music while editing a few photos from last Friday night’s fundraising event for Jonah. I stood there, one in a crowd of many, many people who came out to support what Jill is doing. I heard about what Sanfilippo Syndrome is and that there is 4 types; Jonah has the rarest type of them all- type C. He is so young. If nothing is done he will most likely die by the time he is 20 years old. Something is being done, though. We, and by we I mean Jill and you and me and every body else, can make a difference. There is research to be done. The geneticists are there and ready to do the work. They want to do the research. They need money. The big pharmaceutical companies don’t want to fund the research because type C is so rare that they wouldn’t actually make money. That’s where we come in. We give. We spread the word. It isn’t just Jonah that we’re fighting for. We’re fighting for the others that need this research done, too. I feel both heartbroken and inspired.

